Something to aspire to – 2KCBWDAY6

“Something to aspire to – 2KCBWDAY6

Is there a pattern or skill that you don’t yet feel ready to tackle but which you hope to (or think you can only dream of) tackling in the future, near or distant? Is there a skill or project that makes your mind boggle at the sheer time, dedication and mastery of the craft? Maybe the skill or pattern is one that you don’t even personally want to make but can stand back and admire those that do. Maybe it is something you think you will never be bothered to actually make bu can admire the result of those that have.”

I have a loooong to-do list of things I aspire to in knitting. As a new knitter (I think I am coming up to my 9 month anniversary) I sort of feel like a kid in a candy store every time I get on Ravelry, or open my email, or go to the yarn store. It is almost overwhelming now because there are SO many things I want to make! Scarves, garments, cowls, cardigans, hats, socks, socks,socks, baby hats/cardigans/booties, Amigurumi, shawls, and the list goes on! I also have a long list of techniques I want to learn, including (but not limited to) entrelac, brioche, colorwork (intarsia and fair isle to start), different sock techniques (different heels, toes, etc), lace, be able to knit faster and with less stress/tension, and above all I would like to master the ability to read a knitting chart! Lol! My Ravelry favorites has grown so big at this point it is difficult to even find the things I have favorited!! Here is the list of things I’d really like to learn, and some projects I like to learn them on!

1. Entrelac- I love the look of the entrelac, and although I am EXTREMELY intimidated by this technique, it is still something I’d like to try. I think the Athena Entrelac Neck Warmer by PDXKnitterati is beautiful and hopefully a good place to start!

2. Colorwork – I’d like to make the January socks from the Rockin’ Sock Club from Blue Moon Fiber Arts (haven’t decided on Distelfink or Social Network yet) . They are so cool, but I don’t want to mess them up so I will likely make a hat or swatch something to get the technique right first. I may look in my copy of The Fearless Knitting Workbook to see if there is something in there I can make to learn the technique.

3. Beading and lace – I am learning this now with my Infernal Kernel and the Mystery KAL with Laura Nelkin’s pattern that I’m doing with Rae’s Yarn Boutique for their 7th anniversary celebration this month.The Mystery KAL’s first clue involves stringing 600 beads onto the yarn, so I am getting to this technique sooner rather than later! Can’t wait to see what it turns out to be! The Infernal Kernel involves putting beads on with a small crochet hook, so there are two new techniques I’ll have under my belt!

4. Knitting in public – Basically I love knitting and I wish I had more time to do it. I need to start making more time to knit with friends and at the LYS. My friends are who taught me to knit, and I know that I will make new friends and learn TONS if I make the time to get the LYS more often. I have a favorite LYS that is not exactly local (Hank of Yarn in Southaven, MS), but since it takes me a good 20-30 minutes to get there I have to make time for it. Haven’t been doing that much lately. BUT I have signed up for a class in April to learn the afterthought heel, and I plan on trying to make it to their open knitting night on Thursdays(?) on the days I don’t work. There is another LYS closer to me, but I still haven’t found my “place” there and sometimes the vibe I get is kinda weird. They are nice, don’t get me wrong, but I like to be around people who are open and inviting, even if they don’t know you. My mom’s LYS and my LYS-away-from-home is Rae’s Yarn Boutique in Lansing,MI. I simply ADORE this store! They have events, KAL’s, a GREAT selection, classes, weaving (my mom is totally into this now), and Rae dye’s her own line of yarn (Extravayarnza). Also, they take orders from me patiently over the phone and help me pick out stuff so I can participate and knit things with my mom!

Anyway, there’s some of the things I aspire to in knitting! What do you aspire to? Anything you’ve been itching to try?

This entry was posted in Aspirations, Drool worthy, Revelations, Still learning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something to aspire to – 2KCBWDAY6

  1. bumbliwa says:

    I am touched by your writing and am pleased to see you grow your wings!

Leave a Reply

