Where are they now? – 2KCBWDAY4

Since I haven’t knit that many projects yet it is pretty easy to remember where each one has gone. Most of my projects so far have ended up in the loving hands of someone else, or have been relegated to the frog pond to await a slow, mossy decay. Hmmm, that sounds kind of pessimistic. Perhaps I should say, the yarn for some of my projects in which I *learned a little more than others* will be recycled and have been sent to a recycling facility (a plastic bin) to await new life!! Sounds better that way! Here are the whereabouts of a few of my projects.

Comfy Cowl:

The comfy cowl was gifted to my brother’s (ex) girlfriend. She is a sweet girl, and I’m a bit disappointed things didn’t work out for them, but I’m sure it’s for the best. Nevertheless the Comfy Cowl was gifted to her as a Christmas gift (given almost 2 months later, of course, since I did NOT meet my Christmas knitting deadline). I hope she uses and enjoys it as much as I enjoyed knitting it! When it cools off again I’ll probably be making one of these for myself. J

Comfy cowl (modeled by me)

Ribby Hat:

My brother was the recipient of the Ribby Hat. To my knowledge he used it all the time this past winter to stave off the Michigan cold. I knitted it in a very Manly (with a capital M) black Malabrigo. I hope that he can get some use out of it before he, ahem, loses it. The good thing is it that it is a relatively quick knit for me, so I can always make him another one!!

My brother modeling the Ribby Hat (in an unfinished state, btw!)

Socks :

My sock obsession is long, but my list of finished socks is short. I think I have three or four pairs on the needles now, but have a way to go to finish any of them. The socks will be staying with me for now as I strive to perfect my technique. I can’t meddle with trying to fit them to other people’s feet yet! Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself as justification to hoard all of my luscious sock yarn and keep it for myself!

Two at a time toe up socks for a toddler

My First Wool Scarf Ever…

My first thing that I ever knitted is this lovely 100% wool scarf made with grey Twinkle yarn that my friend gave me. I am so proud of it and I think I did a very good job for it being my first scarf. I decided to give it to my mom because she lives in Michigan and the winters there are cold enough to warrant a thick wool scarf. She wears it to work regularly, I’m happy to say!!

Mom modeling the "First Ever Wool Scarf"

Kitty’s yellow mouse:

My cat, Kitty (her real name is Scrappy Coco). I know – this is an aside, but I better explain the name thing. Kitty was a starving stray cat that literally showed up at my front door one night a few summers ago. I took her in, nursing her through worms, fleas, and a massive fight with the neighbor cat (curse you mondo-white-fluffy-neighbor-cat!). I had the intention of giving her away after I nursed her to health, so I gave her a silly name thinking her new owners would put actual thought into her name. Scrappy Coco is the name Adam Sandler gives himself in that movie where he plays a former ass-kicker-turned-hairdresser (Don’t Mess With The Zohan). I know. Really?!? Fast forward two years she is my Spoiled Cat Brat, and unfortunately all her vet papers still say Scrappy Coco. Thankfully she only responds to Kitty, and that is what I call her. Kitty used to have a Yellow Mouse that she simply adored. She would play with it, throw it in the air and catch it, and fetch it (yes fetch). So, I moved. The Yellow Mouse disappeared. She was sad. I couldn’t find another Yellow Mouse that looked like it. So I did the next best thing: I knitted her one!! Surprisingly, she loves it (even though it looks totally different than her first Yellow Mouse). Well, I did stuff it with a crap load of cat nip… I catch her playing with it out of the corner of my eye all the time!

Kitty and her Yellow Mouse - the picture is blurry because she was a whir of activity!

2KCBWDAY4

This entry was posted in In the Knitting Bag and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where are they now? – 2KCBWDAY4

  1. Nin-Carol says:

    Thanks for stopping by!

    I keep debating about a cowl myself. One day I’ll give it a try.

    Knitted critters make the best cat toys! You’re a love for nursing Kitty back to health and loving her.

    • Thanks! You will conquer the cowl! I think I will be making the Looped Loop Cowl by Kirsten Johnstone next – it looks simply, comfy and uber warm.

      My little Kitty is sitting with me now as I do my morning computer routine. Sometime I’ll have to post picture blog of her recovery process – it’s a very heartwarming journey to ultimate happiness for her! Of course, she is totally spoiled now! 🙂

  2. Geknitics says:

    I so want to make one of those comfy cowls for myself.

Leave a Reply

