Tidy mind, tidy stitches a.k.a. my stash is a HOT MESS!! – 2KCBWDAY3

I think my stash characterized by the distinct lack of organization! I have skeins of yarn still in the USPS bags they were shipped in, yarn in plastic bags [within cardboard boxes], lovely wound cakes in airtight plastic bins, or in totes as on-going projects. In short, it is what we southerners like to call a Hot Mess.

My hot mess resides here:

Stash….

And here:

....and more stash....

And here:

....and more stash....

And here:

...and more stash!

And probably a couple of other places I’m not thinking about now!

The weird thing is, though, for the most part I can find exactly the yarn I am looking for on the first try. Within that hot mess I pretty much know where all my goodies are!! Guess I have yarn-radar or something! A pretty amazing talent considering yarn is spread out over half the apartment! I do keep my Ravelry page pretty much spot-on with my stash, though. I use it diligently to keep track of not only what I have, but where I bought it and how much I paid because inevitable we all lose the ball bands (my feeble attempts at a knitting project journal are better left to another blog post!).

I *could* do with a little more organization. I’d love to have an Ikea-style cubby hole shelving system with baskets or plastic bins or something to keep everything nice and tidy. Or maybe boxes made of a nicely finished maple?!? Might as well be diamonds! I don’t have the space or money for real organization now, considering all my extra funds go to stash enhancement. But still I dream of a lovely home for my stash! And I just realized that all I’ve talked about so far is my stash!! Don’t even get me started on needles, books, and notions!! Aye!

So, what are my 2011 goals for my stash?

  • I’d love to figure out how to add an on-going project tabs to my blog (maybe with a handy progress bar I can update?)
  • Keep up with my Ravelry
  • Find some Ikea-like storage system appropriate for yarn (the furniture must match the yarn!).
  • Realize that it’s ok to hide the yarn all over Hell’s Half Acre (a.k.a. my apartment) if it makes me feel better to think I have little pods of yarn lying around, instead of one giant stash mound!

2KCBWDAY3

This entry was posted in Yarny Goodness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tidy mind, tidy stitches a.k.a. my stash is a HOT MESS!! – 2KCBWDAY3

  1. bumbliwa says:

    Oddly…I know where the described habit comes from!!!

Leave a Reply

