Snow Day!

It snowed last night! In the south you surely know by now that the inevitable afterbirth of snow is….the snow day. Except I DON’T get a snow day! Someone should have put this in the nursing school brochure! Schools close, businesses close, heck, even Starbucks was closed! But the hospital….never….closes! Ever! So I braved the slick and icy roads to get to work. I managed to find the one open Starbucks and get my morning latte and still arrive on time! Yay! I would have much rather been at home, sipping hot cocoa and knitting, but instead I’ll recap my knitting!

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. A lot of stuff has happened, and I’ve been dealing with a lot of change in my life. The funny Time stops for no one. Is that a cliche? Probably… I have to be honest and say I haven’t done much knitting. Or much of anything really in the past month and change. It has been a time of healing and personal growth. I still have a way to go, but I hope to find the good in each day and learn to love myself and life with each and every breath (something I have pushed to the side for a long time). It is a work in progress, to say the least. I have started knitting more lately, though, and I find it to be therapeutic. Something about the rhythm and the click-clack of the needles together is soothing. I am still a terribly slow and tight knitter, and it seems like I knit and knit and my projects never grow. But, it is the process that I enjoy so much. It helps to quite my mind, and put things in order. It gives me time to think about things, but not too hard as I also have to concentrate on my pattern. In short, it soothes my soul. Who knew?!? It really doesn’t matter to me that my gauge is tight, my fingers hurt, my knitting looks awkward and amateur. It just matters that I enjoy it and that I feel good about it. I hope soon I’ll be able to say the same for other aspects of my life.

Here’s to taking life one day, and one stitch, at a time!

This entry was posted in In the Knitting Bag, Still learning, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. bumbliwa says:

    It is nice to hear from you again City Gal! Funny thing is…you got more snow in the south than us Arctic folk and the sun was out ALL day today! (though it was only 8 degrees this morning). Glad you found an open Starbucks and glad you made it to work safely. Keep up the knitting, you may be surprised at how wonderful those tight, awkward items turn out!

Leave a Reply

