All Hallows Eve

Happy Halloween everyone!


Pumpkin Stash!

First and foremost I will share the mad pumpkin carving completed this weekend!

I helped a friend move a crate of pumpkins (about 40 – see picture) and ended up with 6 for myself as a reward. I bought one of those pumpkin carving kits and went to town carving them up! I ended up with 6 awesome Jack-O’-Lanterns and one sore carving hand!

Jack-O'-Lanterns

Although I didn’t actually have any trick-or-treaters (sad, I know), I DID manage to get a lot of knitting done this All Hallows Eve.


Kitty and the Cowl!

First, I got a lot of work done on the Tuesday Night Cowl. I think I have one more pattern repeat before hitting the required 100 rows. It’s looking good and very snuggly so far! Since I don’t have an updated picture that doesn’t include my equally-snuggly kitty, I’ll just post a gratuitous kitty picture instead of the cowl this week!

I made some more progress on The Sock (my new name for my first sock). I am ever more convinced that this sock will be a solitary one, riding off into the sunset to forever rest in the UFO box as one of a pair that will never be completed….sigh.  It just takes so darn LONG to knit it! Thus, I have taken matters into my own hands. I just purchased Toe-Up 2-at-a-Time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes. Now I know what you are thinking: “That’s a big jump, going from your first sock ever (half-knitted, no less) to doing TWO socks AT A TIME from the TOE UP?!? Are you CRAZY?!?” In a word: yes. I just think that it makes a lot of sense!!! I guess maybe I am a little crazy, but I like to think of myself as a Fearless Knitter, able to tackle even the most difficult patterns and techniques [for a newbie] with just a flick of my Magic Needles. Hmm…yeah right. No, really, I am a bit fearless though! I just feel like there is no point to knitting (or making anything) if you don’t take risks! How will you ever learn how to make something awesome if you only ever make a garter stitch scarf? It is my own personal hell to think that I’ll just stick with knitting garter-stitch ANYTHING. Well, it’s not that bad, but still!

SO, I have taken on this new technique. I have started the Sample Socks with two different colors of worsted weight yarn (as suggested) and am using a 40” Addi circular size 5. I have to admit, so far it’s not that bad! I know, I know! Really!!! Judy’s Magic Cast on was actually very easy, and the instructions given by Oakes are VERY clear. The writing is easy to follow (so far) and each step of the way she has large photos that show the detail of each step. I’m digging it so far! I’ll keep working on them and give a better review next week.

OMG! TWO at a TIME from the TOE UP sample socks!

Other than that there hasn’t been too much more knitting. I am hoping to meet up with my City Knitters next week (I just gave us that name, by the way!). This is a group of fellow nurses and knitters who occasionally meet up to talk and knit. Most of them are nurses, and of course in the group is Angie who is my Knitting Fairy Godmother (i.e. the one who forced me to come to this knitting group oh-so-many months ago and gently placed some size 13’s and chunky yarn in my hand and said, “Knit!”).* I really like these girls, and I am eager to show off all of the new things I have learned/bought/messed-up/tried/etc.

Till next time, happy knitting!

CityGalKnitter

*It must be pointed out at this time that my mother made an EARNEST effort to get me to knit MANY MANY years ago, even going so far as to buy me beautiful rosewood needles and lovely yarn to knit beginner swatches on. Does mother know best? Yes. Did I listen then? No. But I am now! Open letter to my mom: Thanks mom for trying. Sorry I was a typical teenager, but I am now (finally)ready to be taught and to absorb all your crafty knowledge. Pretty please! Love, your daughter.

This entry was posted in In the Knitting Bag, Mom knows best..., Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

